Friday night’s festive downtown lighting of the Christmas tree, below the historic Courthouse. Hundreds turned out for the event. A downtown Winter Market followed on Saturday, with Santa himself making an appearance. The Christmas Parade traveled West Main Street in beautiful weather Sunday…

We're always interested in hearing about news in our community. Let us know what's going on!

Wednesday, December 04, 2019
Tuesday, November 26, 2019
Wednesday, November 20, 2019
Wednesday, November 13, 2019

In honor of Veterans Day, Smoky Mountain football players carried American flags as they entered Carr Hooper Stadium prior to Friday’s 42-6 victory over Franklin.

Wednesday, November 06, 2019
Wednesday, October 30, 2019
Wednesday, October 23, 2019
Wednesday, October 16, 2019

Sylva Mayor Lynda Sossamon (right) swears in Chris Hatton as the new chief of police on Thursday, ---Oct. 10 on the Courthouse steps. His wife, Glennis, presented him the pin. Hatton started work Aug. 12 after being selected by a panel of Western North Carolina law enforcement and town offic…

Wednesday, October 09, 2019
Wednesday, October 02, 2019
Wednesday, September 25, 2019