We're always interested in hearing about news in our community. Let us know what's going on!

Wednesday, April 14, 2021
Wednesday, April 07, 2021
Wednesday, March 31, 2021

Smoky Mountain senior Blair Buchanan (left) was crowned Smoky Mountain’s homecoming queen at halftime of Friday’s football game against Brevard. She was escorted by her father, Danny Buchanan. Her sisters (from left), Ashton and Elsie, were also members of the Homecoming Court.

Wednesday, March 24, 2021
  • Updated

In honor of Women’s History Month, The Sylva Herald focuses today on local women who are making history with their present day work. We talked to several women who work hard in different fields to make Jackson County better.

Wednesday, March 17, 2021

Thomas “Tommy” Glenn Palmer, 38, of Tignall, Georgia was sentenced to at least 30 years behind bars Monday after admitting in a Jackson County courtroom he shot and killed his stepfather, Tim Norris, in February 2016.

Wednesday, March 10, 2021
Wednesday, March 03, 2021
Wednesday, February 24, 2021
Wednesday, February 17, 2021
  • Updated

A woman who wrecked while driving impaired, killing a close friend after the two left the now-shuttered No Name Bar in Sylva, will spend three days a year in jail for three consecutive years, District Attorney Ashley Welch said.

Wednesday, February 10, 2021
Wednesday, February 03, 2021