We're always interested in hearing about news in our community. Let us know what's going on!

Wednesday, October 28, 2020
Wednesday, October 21, 2020

Voters line up at the Board of Elections office on the first day of early voting. One-Stop voting began last Thursday and goes through Oct. 31. Hours are Monday through Friday 8 a.m. until 7:30 p.m., Saturday Oct. 17 and 24 from 8 a.m. until 6 p.m. and Oct. 31 from 8 a.m. to 3 p.m. One-Stop …

A Western Carolina University student Tuesday pleaded guilty in Jackson County District Court to misdemeanor death by vehicle in connection with a wreck last year that killed a fellow student, Arabia “Rainey” Niles.

Wednesday, October 14, 2020

A contractor paints white lines on Dillsboro Road last Thursday. The road is part of a detour for local traffic around the Haywood Road bridge construction in Dillsboro. Local traffic can now use Dillsboro Road and Old Home Town Road – which the N.C. Department of Transportation paved to con…

Last year Elvis Presley sang “Blue Christmas” and Santa waved and “Ho-ho-hoed” down West Main Street as part of Sylva’s annual Christmas Parade. COVID-19 will keep the jolly old elf at the North Pole and Elvis on another astral plane this year, as the town board last Thursday decided to canc…

Wednesday, October 07, 2020
Wednesday, September 30, 2020
Wednesday, September 23, 2020
  • Updated

Like many other facets of life in 2020, COVID-19 is affecting various N.C. Department of Transportation projects, including R-5600. The project to reshape Sylva’s commercial corridor has been postponed from fiscal year 2022 to 2025.

Wednesday, September 16, 2020
Wednesday, September 09, 2020
Wednesday, September 02, 2020
  • Updated

The UNC system, which includes Western Carolina University among its 17-strong member institutions, has long been a crown jewel for the state and the envy of many of North Carolina’s peers.

Wednesday, August 26, 2020
Wednesday, August 19, 2020