We're always interested in hearing about news in our community. Let us know what's going on!

Wednesday, June 09, 2021

Humphrey the pig outgrew his apartment at Nicol Arms in Sylva. At about 1:30 p.m. Tuesday, he went on the run. “A former tenant had the pig as a pet and was unable to get it loaded into a truck when they were actually leaving, so it ended up just running loose there,” Sylva Police Chief Chri…

Wednesday, June 02, 2021

Commander Ed Harwood of William E. Dillard American Legion Post #104 addresses a Memorial Day service crowd of about 100 people at the Charters of Freedom display at Mark Watson Park. Representatives of the Jackson County Veterans Office, Legion Riders, American Legion Auxiliary and VFW Post…

Wednesday, May 26, 2021
  • Updated

This Memorial Day features the return of Post Everlasting, a public recitation of the names of county veterans who have departed in the past year. The 2019-20 reading was put on hold due to the COVID-19 pandemic.

Wednesday, May 19, 2021
Wednesday, May 12, 2021
Wednesday, May 05, 2021
Wednesday, April 28, 2021
Wednesday, April 21, 2021
Wednesday, April 14, 2021
Wednesday, April 07, 2021