We're always interested in hearing about news in our community. Let us know what's going on!

Wednesday, January 13, 2021
Wednesday, January 06, 2021

Health educators Curt Collins, left, and Adam Bigelow carry boxes into their new offices in the Jackson County Community Service Center, located at 538 Scotts Creek Road down the hill from Harris Regional Hospital. The Jackson County Department of Public Health, health education, environment…

Wednesday, December 30, 2020
  • Updated

Sleds slid and snowpeople popped up around Jackson County when about 3 inches of snow fell on Christmas Eve and Christmas morning, offering a rare white Christmas. Matthew Turlington, of www.MatthewTurling-tonPhotography.com, captured this picture of Sylva’s Christmas tree and the Jackson Co…

Wednesday, December 23, 2020

Jackson County Public Schools held a holiday art contest, with the winning design adorning the system’s official greeting card, Interim Superintendent Tony Tipton told the Board of Education at the Dec. 15 meeting.

Wednesday, December 16, 2020
Wednesday, December 09, 2020
Wednesday, December 02, 2020

A light dusting of snow added nature’s touch to the Christmas decorations adorning Courthouse Hill. The snowfall was around an inch or less in lower elevations Tuesday morning in Jackson County, but some areas to the west and in higher elevations received significantly more. The deepest snow…

Wednesday, November 25, 2020
Wednesday, November 18, 2020
Wednesday, November 11, 2020