We're always interested in hearing about news in our community. Let us know what's going on!

Wednesday, January 22, 2020
Wednesday, January 15, 2020

 Utility location has held the N.C. Department of Transportation plan to reconfigure N.C. 107/U.S. 23 Business through Sylva’s business corridor at 65 percent. The plans reached the 65 percent threshold since at least July, but work is ongoing.

 The N.C. Court of Appeals agreed to hear the case of former Sylva police officer Curtis Lambert, forcing another round of courtroom wrangling Feb. 4 with the town. The four-year legal battle stems from his 2014 firing from the force.

Wednesday, January 08, 2020
Wednesday, January 01, 2020
Wednesday, December 25, 2019
Wednesday, December 18, 2019

A car drives what is now the wrong way on Railroad Avenue about 45 minutes after it changed to become a one-way road last Wednesday afternoon. “It will take some getting used to,” Sylva Director of Public Works Jake Scott said. “We’ll do some thermo-plastic striping when temperatures are con…

Wednesday, December 11, 2019

A horse-drawn wagon hooves its way through town Friday at the Dillsboro Lights and Luminaries. The town brightens the night with its 2,500 luminaries again Friday and Saturday. Horse and buggy rides are planned each night. Shopkeepers offer live music and serve holiday treats with hot cider …

The cast of “Legally Blonde, the Musical,” presented by Smoky Mountain High School Musical Theatre Department and Musical Theatre Class lines the stage. Show dates are 7:30 p.m. Friday, 3 p.m. and 7:30 p.m. Saturday, and 3 p.m. Sunday. All performances are at the Smoky Mountain Fine and Perf…

Wednesday, December 04, 2019

Friday night’s festive downtown lighting of the Christmas tree, below the historic Courthouse. Hundreds turned out for the event. A downtown Winter Market followed on Saturday, with Santa himself making an appearance. The Christmas Parade traveled West Main Street in beautiful weather Sunday…

Tuesday, November 26, 2019
Wednesday, November 20, 2019
Wednesday, November 13, 2019