Chamber tourney winners

First place winners in the Yona Flight at the 28th annual Jackson County Chamber of Commerce Chamber Challenge Golf Tournament held April 24 at Sequoyah National Golf Club were, from left: Wayne Edwards, Andy Edwards and Jason Hodgin; (not pictured) Jon Henson. The 120 golfers in the tourney included 30 four-player teams. Hodgin was winner for the longest drive, and Dana Smith won for closest to the pin. Winners in the A-Wi Flight were Matt Saenger, Lee Hughes, Jason Maples and Terri McElroy. Coming in second in the Yona Flight were Will Peoples, Andrew Maney, Glenn Burchfield and Travis Erickson. Kevin Stanberry, Gorham Bradley, Kevin Wittekind and Tim Eckberg were third in that flight. Placing second in the A-Wi Flight were Randy Rogers, Mark Boyd, Asher Boyd and John Smith. Coming in third in that flight were Chad Gerrety, Scott Lamond, Micah Miller and Charlie Schmidt. The Super Raffle winner, which included rounds of golf and tickets to the Wells Fargo/Quail Hollow PGA event, was Jason Maples. Lee Hughes was second in the raffle, with the prize including 12 rounds of golf. Rick Fulton was the 50-50 cash winner. Proceeds from the tourney help support chamber operations, two scholarships at Southern Community College and Western Carolina University and events such as Concerts on the Creek, the July 4 fireworks, the Hook, Line and Drinker Festival, and the Tuck Trout Trot. Chamber officials expressed appreciation to the Chamber staff, volunteers, corporate sponsors and partners, food and drink providers, and prize donors for making the event successful year after year. Special appreciation was extended to the staff at Sequoyah National and the Jackson County Parks and Recreation Department.