Blanton scholarship winners

The 12th Annual Trooper Shawn Blanton Memorial Golf Tournament was held Friday, June 14 at Sequoyah National Golf Club in Whitter. Scholarships were given to regional high school seniors who played softball. Recipients from left to right: Hannah King from Smoky Mountain High School, Sydney Ledford from Enka High School, Kendall Bowers from Swain High School and Madison Orr from Robbinsville High School. Not pictured Caitlynn Irwin from Murphy High School. At the time of Trooper Blanton’s death, he had finished his first year as head coach for the SMHS JV softball team.