We're always interested in hearing about news in our community. Let us know what's going on!

Wednesday, September 23, 2020

Livingston Kelley won the Jackson County Golf Club’s tournament played Sept. 14 at Mill Creek Country Club in Franklin with a net score of 67.

Wednesday, September 16, 2020

Brigham Waginger, a former Western Carolina men’s basketball player and an assistant under two Catamount head coaches, enters a new position this fall in WCU’s Athletics Department.

Western Carolina’s first athletic competition amid the COVID-19 pandemic will start Sunday when the men’s golf team travels to Ooltewah, Tennessee.

Wednesday, September 09, 2020
Wednesday, August 26, 2020

James Adams and Jay Frattini teamed up to win the two-person captain’s choice Jackson County Golf Club tournament played Aug. 17 at Smoky Mountain Country Club.

Wednesday, August 19, 2020
Wednesday, August 05, 2020
Wednesday, July 29, 2020
Wednesday, July 22, 2020
  • Updated

Steve Shumaker won the Jackson County Golf Club’s tournament played July 13 at Waynesville Country Club with a net score of 60.

Wednesday, July 15, 2020

The Dirtbags Checkmate 16 and under baseball team based in Burlington, which includes Smoky Mountain rising junior Chase Gribble, recently won the Firecracker Finale 16U World Series played in Burlington and High Point. The Dirtbags opened with a 10-7 win over 4G3. They went on to defeat 16U…

Wednesday, July 01, 2020
Wednesday, June 24, 2020

Western Carolina right-handed pitcher Chase Walter has signed as an undrafted free agent with the San Diego Padres following the abbreviated Major League Baseball Draft.

Wednesday, June 17, 2020

Wayne Tolleson, a former two-sport standout at Western Carolina and a member of the inaugural class of the WCU Athletic Hall of Fame, is one of five individuals selected for induction into the Southern Conference Hall of Fame.

Wednesday, June 10, 2020

Construction began recently at Western Carolina’s E.J. Whitmire Stadium as the playing surface on Bob Waters Field is being replaced. The project, which started with the removal of the old turf, is slated to be completed by Aug. 1.

Wednesday, June 03, 2020
Wednesday, May 27, 2020
  • Updated

Nine of Western Carolina’s sports posted perfect Academic Progress Rate scores for the 2018-19 academic year released recently by the NCAA, as all 16 of WCU’s intercollegiate sports achieved single-year APR scores above the minimum threshold.

  • Updated

Chuck Hall and Livingston Kelley tied for first place with net scores of 66 in the Jackson County Golf Club’s tournament played May 18 at Lake Junaluska.

Wednesday, May 20, 2020