If you're interested in submitting a Letter to the Editor, click here.

Wednesday, June 15, 2022
Wednesday, June 08, 2022
Wednesday, May 11, 2022
Wednesday, May 04, 2022
Wednesday, April 27, 2022
Wednesday, March 30, 2022
Wednesday, March 23, 2022
Wednesday, March 16, 2022
Wednesday, February 23, 2022
Wednesday, February 16, 2022
Wednesday, February 09, 2022
Wednesday, January 19, 2022
Wednesday, January 12, 2022
Wednesday, January 05, 2022
  • Updated

We hope success will be the storyline for businesses and nonprofits in Jackson County in 2022, and there’s one in particular we’d like to single out today: WNC Farm to Table.

Wednesday, December 29, 2021
Wednesday, December 15, 2021
Wednesday, November 17, 2021

The long-awaited federal infrastructure plan was passed by Congress on Friday and signed into law by President Joe Biden on Monday. While it will take some time for spending at the granular level here to come into focus, just glancing at the raw numbers shows the measure means a lot for Nort…

Wednesday, November 03, 2021
Wednesday, October 13, 2021
Wednesday, October 06, 2021
Wednesday, September 22, 2021
Wednesday, September 08, 2021
Wednesday, September 01, 2021
Wednesday, August 18, 2021
Wednesday, July 07, 2021
Wednesday, June 23, 2021
Wednesday, June 16, 2021
Wednesday, May 19, 2021
Wednesday, May 05, 2021
Wednesday, April 14, 2021
Wednesday, April 07, 2021
Wednesday, March 31, 2021
Wednesday, March 17, 2021
Wednesday, March 03, 2021

A few weeks back we wrote about House Bill 35, a measure sponsored by a number of Republican House members, none representing Jackson County or Western North Carolina, that would allow a dozen or so counties – including Jackson – to publish public notices on a county-maintained website inste…

Wednesday, February 24, 2021
Wednesday, February 17, 2021
Wednesday, February 10, 2021
Wednesday, February 03, 2021
Wednesday, January 27, 2021

Fresh out of the gates, there’s plenty of bad news out there – political division and COVID still hang in the air like smoke from a tire fire – but Dillsboro is bucking the bad-news trend in impressive fashion.

Wednesday, January 13, 2021
Wednesday, December 30, 2020
Wednesday, December 16, 2020
Wednesday, December 09, 2020

With the predictions of post-Thanksgiving spikes in the number of COVID-19 cases turning out to be chillingly true, we’d like to offer a gentle reminder that there are steps we can take to help our overtaxed health care professionals cope with this latest sinister chapter of the pandemic.

Wednesday, December 02, 2020
Wednesday, November 25, 2020
Wednesday, November 11, 2020
Wednesday, November 04, 2020
Wednesday, October 28, 2020
Wednesday, September 02, 2020
  • Updated

The UNC system, which includes Western Carolina University among its 17-strong member institutions, has long been a crown jewel for the state and the envy of many of North Carolina’s peers.