Theresa Lynn Riddle Coggins, 54, of Tuckasegee passed away at Haywood Regional Medical Center in Clyde on Sept. 30, 2019, after a lengthy illness.

James Ralph DeVane, 80, of Cullowhee passed away Thursday morning, Oct. 10, 2019.

William Thomas “Bill” Freeman, age 94, of Waynesville passed away on Friday, Oct. 11, 2019, surrounded by his family.

Submit an Obituary

Funeral homes often submit obituaries as a service to the families they are assisting. However, we will be happy to accept obituaries from family members pending proper verification of the death.

Michael Harris, 48, of Sylva passed away Friday, Oct. 11, 2019.

Julia Penland Dellinger of Cullowhee, N.C., died in her home, surrounded by her family and canine companions, on Friday, Oct. 11, 2019 at the age of 95.

Naomi “Nicki” Seago, age 87, of Clyde, N.C., passed away on Saturday, Oct. 12, 2019, at Silver Bluff Village in Canton, N.C.

Ernie Lee Akins, 68, of Tuckasegee passed away peacefully surrounded by his family Sunday, Oct. 6, 2019.

Dr. Jane Bolton Schulz, 95, died Oct. 3, 2019, at home with her family in Kingsport, Tenn.

Charles “Chubb” Gordon Buchanan, 79, of Whittier passed away Wednesday, Oct. 2, 2019.

Nancy Sue Childers, age 82, of Whittier, N.C., went to her Heavenly home on Tuesday, Oct. 1, 2019, surrounded by her loving family.

David Luker, 66, of Tuckasegee passed away Friday, Oct. 4, 2019.

John Timothy “Tim” Ashe, 60, of Waverly, Tenn., formerly of Sylva, N.C., passed away Thursday, Oct. 3, 2019.

Daniel Thomas “Dan” Pulte of Whittier, N.C., age 81, was called for his Heavenly tee time on Oct. 4, 2019.

Barbara Sutton Brooks, 83, of McAdenville passed away on July 25, 2019, at Caromont Regional Medical Center, Gastonia.

Bertha Kinsland, 88, of Brevard, passed away on Wednesday, Oct. 2, 2019.

Donald B. Wood, 72, of Whittier went home to be with the Lord, Saturday Oct. 5, 2019.

James Thomas Biddix, 74, of Sylva, N.C., passed away Oct. 3, 2019.

Beverley June Colvard of Sylva, N.C., passed away suddenly on Monday, Sept. 2, 2019, after a period of declining health.

Deral Bradley, 89, of Sylva went home to be with the Lord, Sunday Sept. 8, 2019.

James Peery Williams Thompson died in Cedar Bluff, Va., on Aug. 27, 2019, from complications of his chronic illness.

Bonnie King Gibson, born April 10, 1923, entered into the presence of her Lord Thursday morning Sept. 5, 2019.

Hermie Brown Woodard, 92, of Sylva passed away Wednesday, Sept. 4, 2019, at her home.

William “John” Killinger, 77, of Sylva, N.C., passed away on Sunday, Sept. 22, 2019, due to complications from COPD.

Rebecca “Becky” Jane Wilson, age 90, of Sylva, N.C., passed away on Thursday, Sept. 26, 2019.

Martha Ellen Nicholson Coward, 93, of Sylva passed away on Saturday, Sept. 28.

Brandy Cope Hubbard, 43, of Martinsville, Va., formerly of Sylva, N.C., passed away peacefully after a courageous battle with cancer, Tuesday, Sept. 24, 2019.

Elba Parker Crain passed away at her home in Cherokee, N.C., Sept. 24, 2019.

Steve Cottrell, 76, of Hayesville, formerly of Cullowhee, passed away Monday, Sept. 23, 2019, in a Gainesville, Georgia hospital.

Barbara Ann “Bobby” Hewel of Sylva, N.C., flew away to the arms of Jesus on Sept. 20, 2019.

Carl Sparks, age 80, of Sylva went home to be with the Lord on Wednesday, Sept. 18, 2019.

Libby Nations, age 66, of Sylva went home to be with the Lord on Saturday, Sept. 21, 2019, surrounded by her loving family.

Robert David Anderson, age 76, of Brasstown passed away Wednesday, Sept. 18, 2019, at his residence.

Herman Conner, 94, of Waynesville passed away Saturday, Sept. 21, 2019, surrounded by family.

Dannette Kathleen Garcia, 57, of Tuckasegee passed away Saturday, Sept. 21, 2019.

David Bryson, 67, of Clyde, formerly of Sylva, passed away Sunday, Sept. 15, 2019.

Larry Jane Bumgarner, 87, of Nations Creek went home to be with the Lord Sunday, Sept. 15, 2019.

Born Dora Ann Allen, aka “Dodie” March 4, 1935, in Hollywood Fla.

Shirley Davis Cooper, 75, of the Gateway community, went home to be with Jesus on Tuesday, Sept. 10, 2019.

M.G. Decker, 84, of Sylva, N.C., went home to be with the Lord on Monday, Sept. 2, 2019, at Vero Health and Rehabilitation.

Ruby Rice Talley, 81, of Cashiers went home to be with the Lord on Monday, Aug. 26, 2019.

Ellerd Miner Hulbert, 88, of Sylva, N.C., passed away on Saturday, Aug. 31, 2019, after suffering a sudden stroke.

Shirley Ashe, 71, of Sylva went home to be with the Lord on Thursday, Aug. 22, 2019.

Vaughn Brown, 80, of Tuckasegee, went home to be with the Lord and his family, Tuesday, Aug. 20, 2019.

Carolyn M. Woolvin, 81, of Front Royal, Va. passed away on Tuesday, Aug. 13, 2019, at her home.

Melvin Thomas “Mel” Dixon, 89, of Sylva N.C., formerly of Richmond, Charlottesville and Deltaville, Va., passed away in Sylva on Aug. 19, 2019.

Joy Phillips Hoyle, 74, of Sylva went home to be with the Lord on Sunday, Aug. 25, 2019.

JoAnne Henson “Gammie” Sutton, 85, of Cullowhee went home to be with the Lord on Monday, Aug. 26, 2019.

Tyron Willard “Bill” Freeman passed away Sunday, Aug. 25, 2019, at Tsali Care, Cherokee, at the age of 77.

Jonathan Edward Baxley, 62, of Sylva passed away Sunday, Aug. 11, 2019.

Earl Dillard, 78, of Franklin passed away Saturday, Aug. 17, 2019.

On the morning of July 4, 2019, Dr. Alice Patsy McGuire McGuire departed this earthly life at the age of 102.

Elizabeth “Kate” Harris Barnwell, 94, of Asheville, passed away Sunday, Aug. 18, 2019, at the WNC Baptist Home.