Matthew Toedt of Sylva earned the distinction of Faculty Honors for fall 2020 at the Georgia Institute of Technology. This designation is awarded to undergraduate students who have earned a 4.0 academic average for the semester.


Smoky Mountain High School graduate Kat Morgan is recipient of the Philanthropic Educational Organization’s Star Scholarship.

Morgan will use the $2,500 scholarship to attend the University of Alabama in Huntsville. She began her studies in aerospace engineering in the fall of 2020 and made the Dean’s List.


Ameer Adam and Faisal Adam of Sylva were named to the Dean’s List at East Tennessee State University’s Bill Gatton College of Pharmacy for fall 2020.


Kaili Swanson of Whittier was named to the President’s List for the fall 2020 semester at The University of South Carolina at Aiken. Swanson is a member of the class of 2024. To be eligible for this distinction, students had to be enrolled full-time and maintain a GPA of at least 3.5.