Although the pandemic kept Southwestern Community College from holding an in-person ceremony this fall, SCC officials welcomed 88 – including 36 from Jackson County – new members into the college’s chapter of the National Technical Honor Society with an induction video.

SCC President Don Tomas joined Executive Vice President for Instruction and Student Services Thom Brooks and Mathematics Instructor Vicki Todd to produce a virtual ceremony for the most-recent inductees.

NTHS members hold at least a 3.5 grade-point average. They were nominated by a teaching faculty members and rank among the top 20 percent of active students in their respective programs.

“We would love to have welcomed all these students into our Burrell Conference Center to celebrate their achievements, because they deserve to hear the applause of family and friends,” Brooks said. “Just because we weren’t able to do that doesn’t lessen their accomplishments. We are extremely proud of every single one of these inductees, and we look forward to seeing what each of them accomplishes in the years ahead.”

NTHS recognizes outstanding student achievement in career and technical education. It encourages higher scholastic achievement, cultivates a desire for personal excellence and helps students find success in the workplace.


Those honored from Jackson County are: 


Cashiers: Bailee Collins, Associate in Arts; and Dagmar West, Accounting & Finance.


Cherokee: Ashley Bradley, Medical Assistant.


Cullowhee: Ellie Padgett, Associate in Science; Katie McMillan, Paralegal Technology; Madeline Metz, Associate in Arts; Matthew Ferris, Human Services & Substance Abuse Counseling; Zeb Sink, Associate in Science; and Mason Felton, Fine and Visual Arts.


Sylva: April Burns, Business Administration; Chelsea Brothers, Business Administration-Entrepreneurship; Destiny Moody, Associate In Arts; Eric Cox, Associate in Arts; Grace Luopa, Associate in Arts; Kassidy Holland, Occupational Therapy Assistant; Katelynn Thomas, Business Administration AAS; Kelsey Hill, Medical Sonography; Kenneth Fischer, Information Technology – Software & Web Development; Mackenzie Hicks, Associate in Arts – Pathway; MacKenzie White, Human Services & Substance Abuse Treatment; Madison Polyasko, Accounting; Melody Mull, Business Administration; Patricia Buchanan, Nursing Associate Degree; Rebecca Rodriguez, Cybercrime; Sam Ogburn, Associate in Arts; Seraphim Cass, Associate in Arts; Shayla Buchanan, Nursing Associate Degree – RIBN; Tessa Omer, Associate in Arts; and Wendy Cool, Accounting and Finance.


Tuckasegee: Alyssa Rowe, Associate in Arts.


Whittier: Abigail Jones, Occupational Therapy Assistant; Deven Silvers, ESL Education; Isaac Bowers, Advertising & Graphic Design; Isaac Quillen, Biology; Jessica Buchanan, Early Childhood Education; Justina Bentivogli, Radiology; and Richard George, Associate in Arts.