Don Clawson and Steve Heatherly

Don Clawson, right, is pictured with Steve Heatherly, CEO of Harris Regional and Swain Community Hospital.

Harris Regional Hospital and Swain Community Hospital recently announced that Don Clawson, a security officer with the hospitals, has been recognized as the hospitals’ 2019 Mercy Award winner. The Mercy Award recognizes one employee from each of LifePoint Health’s hospitals who profoundly touches the lives of others and best represents the spirit and values the company was founded on.

The Mercy Award is an annual recognition program established in 2001 to honor the life and contributions of Scott Mercy, LifePoint’s founding chairman and chief executive officer. The award is the highest honor a LifePoint employee can receive.

“At Harris Regional Hospital and Swain Community Hospital, we share LifePoint’s commitment to Making Communities Healthier, and we recognize this is supported by the good work and service of our employees on and off the job,” said Steve Heatherly, CEO of Harris Regional Hospital and Swain Community Hospital. “We are extremely proud to recognize Don for his efforts on behalf of our patients and our community. Don goes above and beyond each and every day to ensure that every person he encounters receives the highest level of care and compassion.”

Other nominees included: Tim Bell, Dana Bell, Melanie Moody, Norma Burdette, Sandy Davis, Missy Bowman, Ellen Meekins, James Lewis, Tammy Stephenson, Jessica Hall, Erica Giberson and Tina Brendle.

Each hospital winner, including Clawson, will be considered for LifePoint’s 2019 companywide Mercy Award. The companywide winner will be announced this summer and honored during a ceremony in Nashville, Tenn., in August, to which Don and all hospital winners are invited to attend.