One-stop (early) voting begins Thursday, Feb. 13, and runs through Saturday, Feb. 29.

One-stop sites are:

•Jackson County Board Of Elections Office, 

  876 Skyland Dr. # 1, Sylva.

• Cashiers Recreation Center, 

  355 Frank Allen Road, Cashiers.

• Cullowhee Recreation Center, 

  88 Cullowhee Mountain Road, Cullowhee.

• Western Carolina University, 

  245 Memorial Drive, Cullowhee.

• Wolfetown Community Gym, 

  BIA Hwy. 422, Cherokee.


Hours are Monday through Friday from 8 a.m. until 7:30 p.m. Feb. 29 is the only Saturday for voting, with sites will be open from 8 a.m. until 3 p.m. The times are the same for all locations.

Potential voters have until Feb. 7 to register, but they can also register and vote the same day at one-stop sites.

To register and vote the same day, a person must complete a voter-registration application and show an election official proof of their Jackson County residency by presenting any one of the following showing current name and current address:

• North Carolina driver license.

• Other photo identification issued by a government agency. Any government-issued photo ID is acceptable, so long as the card bears the voter’s current name and current address.

• A copy of a current utility bill, bank statement, government check, paycheck, or other government document showing the voter’s name and address.

• A current college/university photo identification card paired with proof of campus.

The newly registered voter can immediately vote on the same day they register to vote at one-stop sites. There is no same day registration and voting on election day. The Board of Elections will verify the voter’s registration before election day.

Voters who are not sure if they are registered to vote can use the N.C. Board of Elections Voter Lookup Tool to check, found at

Unaffiliated voters can choose to vote in the Republican, Democratic or Libertarian primaries. Constitution and Green party primaries are only open to voters affiliated with their party.

Though the election is a primary, two non-partisan Board of Education races will be decided on March 3. Incumbent Elizabeth Cooper and Shane Danner square off in District 1, and incumbent Wes Jamison is running unopposed in District 3.

No photo ID is required to vote in the primary.

For more information, call the Jackson County Board of Elections at 586-7538; visit; or stop by the Jackson County Board of Elections office, located in the Skyland Services Center on Skyland Drive, during regular business hours.