We're always interested in hearing about news in our community. Let us know what's going on!

Wednesday, May 13, 2020
Wednesday, April 22, 2020
Wednesday, March 18, 2020
Wednesday, March 04, 2020
Wednesday, February 19, 2020
Wednesday, February 05, 2020

Sugar Creek Baptist Church will have a singing at 7 p.m. Saturday featuring local choirs and singers.

Wednesday, January 29, 2020
Wednesday, January 22, 2020
Wednesday, January 15, 2020
Wednesday, December 25, 2019
Wednesday, December 18, 2019

Submit your church announcements by noon Monday to news@thesylvaherald.com, or leave it at our office 539 West Main Street, Sylva.

Wednesday, December 11, 2019
Wednesday, December 04, 2019
Wednesday, November 06, 2019
Wednesday, October 30, 2019
Wednesday, October 23, 2019
Wednesday, October 16, 2019
Wednesday, October 09, 2019
Wednesday, October 02, 2019
Wednesday, September 25, 2019
Wednesday, September 18, 2019

Tuckasegee Baptist Church will feature a message from Ukrainian missionaries Gennady and Mina Podgasky at 11 a.m. Sunday.

Wednesday, September 11, 2019
Wednesday, September 04, 2019
Wednesday, August 28, 2019
Wednesday, August 21, 2019
Wednesday, August 07, 2019
Wednesday, July 31, 2019
Wednesday, July 24, 2019

Submit your church announcements by noon Monday to news@thesylvaherald.com, or leave it at our office 539 West Main Street, Sylva.

Wednesday, July 17, 2019
Wednesday, July 10, 2019

Black Mountain Baptist in Cullowhee has come a long way from services held in a shady grove of trees. Until early 1880 folks walked from many miles away across the mountains to Ochre Hill or Cullowhee Baptist church for worship services.

Wednesday, July 03, 2019

The Summit Church will host a Vacation Bible School program, “Camp Promise: God is Faithful,” from 5:30-7:45 p.m. Sunday, July 14, through Tuesday, July 16, for ages 3 years through fifth grade. Dinner is provided each evening. Register online at www.vbspro.events/p/events.f42b1a. Summit is …

Wednesday, June 26, 2019
Wednesday, June 19, 2019

Whittier United Methodist Church will hold a benefit supper at 6 p.m. Friday. The menu is potluck – meats, taters and lots of veggies. Drinks and desserts will be included. The cost is $8 and all proceeds will be used to benefit many community outreach efforts and the Grace House Food Pantry…

Wednesday, June 12, 2019
Wednesday, June 05, 2019

Webster Baptist will host a yard sale from 8 a.m. until noon Saturday, June 15, in the church’s Christian Life Center gym.

Wednesday, May 29, 2019
Wednesday, May 22, 2019

Black Mountain Baptist will hold its regular Saturday night singing this week with services beginning at 7 p.m. The featured guests will be the Northeast Georgia Singers.

Wednesday, May 15, 2019

Cullowhee United Methodist will offer Vacation Bible School classes from 9-11:30 a.m. Tuesday, June 11, through Thursday, June 13. The VBS is called “A Blessing Bakery.” Kids will discover how they can be a blessing to others through Bible stories, games, crafts and baking. Call or email the…

Wednesday, May 08, 2019
Wednesday, May 01, 2019
Wednesday, April 24, 2019

The Jackson County Fellowship of Christian Athletes will hold its monthly prayer rally at 6:30 p.m. Tuesday at Smoky Mountain High School’s Carr Hooper Stadium/Babe Howell Field.

Wednesday, April 17, 2019

Moses Creek Baptist will hold its Easter sunrise service at 8 a.m. Sunday at the Upper Stephens Cemetery on Caney Fork. Breakfast will follow at 9 a.m. in the church fellowship hall with morning worship service at 10 a.m.

Wednesday, April 10, 2019
Wednesday, April 03, 2019

Evangelist L.H. Mathis of the Canada community will depart April 17 for his 10th mission trip to the Philippines, and is expected to return at the end of May. Pictured is Mathis, right, with a 92-year-old Filipino woman and her daughter during a mission trip in the mid-1990s. Mathis will be …

Wednesday, March 27, 2019