November’s election will feature six people seeking three seats on Sylva’s town board.

No other races in Jackson County are contested.

In Sylva, incumbents David Nestler and Greg McPherson are seeking reelection. They are joined on the ballot by former town board member Danny Allen along with Ben Guiney, Luther Jones and Carrie McBane.

Incumbent Harold Hensley did not file for another term.

Board members Mary Gelbaugh and Barbara Hamilton and Mayor Lynda Sossamon are not up for re-election until 2021. The mayor and board members serve four-year terms.

Forest Hills Mayor Kolleen Begley said it’s someone else’s turn to step up and she would not run again. Former Mayor Jim Wallace is the lone candidate to file for the seat.

Forest Hills has two open town board seats. Incumbent Jonathan Brooks and newcomer Timothy Eckard are running unopposed. Board member Niall Michelson will not run.

The board members serve four-year terms, and the mayor’s term is for two years.

In Webster, incumbent Kelly Donaldson and newcomer Allen Davis are unopposed for two board seats. Incumbent Billie Jo Bryson decided not to seek re-election.

Mayor Tracy Rodes, Vice-Mayor LeighAnne Young and board members Alan Grant and Danell Moses are up for re-election in 2021. 

The board members and mayor serve four-year terms.

The lack of candidates has been a recurring election problem for Jackson County’s smallest municipalities. Webster has 276 registered voters and Forest Hills 330.

No Dillsboro seats are up for election this year.

The Herald reached out to candidates to offer a brief description of who they are and why they’re running. We were unable to contact unopposed candidate Jonathan Brooks (Forest Hills council). Danny Allen of Sylva reported that due to health issues he will not actively campaign for the Sylva town board seat he had filed for.