By Dave Russell


At the Sylva town board meeting on Feb. 11, town Manager Paige Dowling announced a need to fill an opening on the Jackson County Alcohol Beverage Control Board. Marion Jones is coming off the board. 

The remaining board members are General Manager Stephen Rhodes, Donald Ferguson, Tom Albert and Maurice Moody. They serve three-year terms.

David Noland, chair of the board since 2017, was unanimously approved last May for another year by the Sylva town board. The chairmanship comes up for approval by the town and the county every year.

The Jackson County commissioners appoint three of the ABC board’s members; Sylva appoints two.

A percentage of gross profits from ABC sales is earmarked for law enforcement and alcohol education. As it stands now, the two local governments divide ABC profits, with the county receiving 60 percent and Sylva 40 percent, from Jackson County’s ABC stores in Sylva and Cashiers.

Applications for board positions are available at and Services/Forms and Applications/Board/Commission Appointment Application.