Jeremy Cauley


On May 19, Jackson County Public Schools accepted the recommendation of Jeremy Cauley for assistant principal at Smoky Mountain High School.

He will be replacing longtime assistant principal Jimmy Cleaveland, who also served as men’s basketball coach and athletic director during his time at the school.

“I am truly honored and so very humbled to serve as an assistant principal at Smoky Mountain High School,” Cauley said. “This institution is a gem not because of the walls and great school colors, but because of the individuals that make it that way every single day. Students are the greatest resource this school has to offer, and the faculty and staff are the best assets Smoky Mountain possesses.”

Cauley graduated from SMHS in 2009 and went on to be a North Carolina Teaching Fellow at Western Carolina University and graduated in 2013 with a double bachelor’s degree in history and social sciences. After graduation, he was hired to work in the history department at SMHS. While working, he helped coach men’s soccer and basketball, served as an assistant athletic director, performed driver’s education and graduated with a master of school administration from WCU in May.

JCPS also accepted the following employee recommendations:

At SMHS, Kathryn Ray, teacher; Blue Ridge School, Gretchen Reece, EC teacher.

Accepted these employee resignations: Smokey Mountain Elementary School, Elizabeth Bolognia, teacher; Fairview Elementary School, Tori Golden, teacher; Cullowhee Valley Elementary School, Karissa Henson, teacher; Jackson County Early College, Emilee Nidiffer, teacher.

Accepted these administrator and director contract renewals: April Bryson, Jeremy Cauley, Kheri Cowan, Meagan Crews, Kelly Doppke, Wanda Fernandez, Josh Francis, Evelyn Graning, Jeremiah Jackson, Melanie Jacobs, Eleanor Macaulay, Michelle Marr, Tracie Metz, Joshua Watson and Holly Whisnant.

Accepted these teacher contract renewals: Blue Ridge Early College, Nicholas Accardo, Brittany Elkins, Allison Hawkins, Gerald Langford, Aaron Littlefield, Elijah Reece, Lee Sudia, Amy Winston;

BRS, Brittani Cachine, Josie Holden, Erica Smithdeal, Susan Watkins, Nicole Westwood; CVES, Kimberly Boughman, Eryn Brown, Rena Eller, Kieran Foxx, Cassandra Friesen, Whitney Harris, Charles Jones, Alexandria Joyner, Lindsey Parker, Joshua Pierce, Beth Pitcher, Brad Pollack, Natalie Sutton, Cassandra Walawender;

FES, Rebbeca Barlowe, Grace Crawford, Nancy Crawford, Mark Derks, Erica Geary, Kathryn Montieth, Tyler Mulligan, Kirstyn Shew, Steven Smith, Ashley Spier, Hannah Sullivan, Julie Thompson, Erik Wilson; Jackson Community School, Monica Dills, Saskia Geary, Marjorie Gilchrist, Benjamin Hardin, Judy McCardle;

JCEC, Sabrina Hallman;

Scotts Creek Elementary School, Amber Bailey, Molly Callaway, Heather Copeland, Gertrude Gunter, Tiffiney Irons, Michelle Long, Julia Medford, Sydney Medford, Wanda Moore, Hannah Platt, Grace Powell, Mackenzie Queen, Alana Starnes, Andrea Trempe;

SMES, Brittany Bower, Gina Cherry, Rachel Cox, Melina Green, Scott Miller, Nicola Nora, Cassandra Sandoval, James Sink, Maria Stiles;

SMHS, Jerrod Boone, Ricky Brindley, Emma Buchanan, Zeb Capps, Kaila Day, Stefanie Eckard, Michale Fox, Earl Frizzell, Krystle Holt, Robert Kanwischer, Susan Karcher, Steve McRae, Charae Naegler, Joey Robinson, Heidi West, Joshua Williams and Kellie Wilson.