We're always interested in hearing about news in our community. Let us know what's going on!

Tuesday, December 08, 2015
Monday, November 30, 2015
Thursday, November 19, 2015

Two former Southwestern Community College staff members are under investigation for allegedly enrolling in classes and then dropping out to defer making federal loan payments.

Monday, October 26, 2015

The Jackson County School system has been granted $200,000 by the Carolina Panthers through the National Football League Foundation Grassroots Program to help pay for a synthetic turf field at Smoky Mountain High School’s Carr Hooper Stadium/Babe Howell Field.

Thursday, October 08, 2015

Saying he “wanted to go on an adventure,” Dakota Hill, now charged with first-degree murder, drove with Tyler Gaddis to an historic church near Cherokee and, in a frenzy, stabbed him to death under the bell tower, according to a federal criminal complaint filed last week in U.S. District Court.

Tuesday, September 22, 2015
Tuesday, August 18, 2015
Thursday, August 13, 2015
Wednesday, August 12, 2015
Friday, August 07, 2015
Thursday, August 06, 2015

grey 2015 Hyundai Accent bearing N.C. license plate DHM-4201

2015 Hyundai Elantra bearing N.C. license plate VNP-8439

Wednesday, June 24, 2015

Information Needed (hit "share," please on our Facebook post here): A 22-year-old man was struck and killed early this morning along N.C. 107 near the intersection with Old Settlement Road, and officers need help identifying the motorist who hit him. They also want to compile a timeline of t…

Tuesday, June 09, 2015

A call from a man claiming he’d been stabbed in a historic church inside Great Smoky Mountains National Park came shortly before emergency responders found a Whittier man’s body in the sanctuary on March 29.

Thursday, May 28, 2015
Tuesday, May 12, 2015
Friday, April 24, 2015

Remember the lead problems that surfaced last year at Southwestern Community College’s firing range? There are more issues now, according to an April 20 report obtained today by The Herald.

Thursday, April 23, 2015
Monday, April 20, 2015
Friday, April 17, 2015
Tuesday, April 07, 2015
Tuesday, March 24, 2015
Monday, March 16, 2015

Steve Allen Ross, 38, of Pathfinder Lane in Sylva died as a result of what Sheriff’s Office Maj. Shannon Queen termed self-inflicted injuries Friday (March 13). Ross was a prisoner at the Jackson County Jail.

Tuesday, March 03, 2015
Sunday, February 01, 2015
Monday, January 26, 2015
Tuesday, January 13, 2015
Tuesday, November 25, 2014
Wednesday, November 19, 2014

A pedestrian died from injuries he sustained Tuesday, Nov. 18, after being struck by a vehicle on Skyland Drive near the intersection of Fisher Creek Road around 7:12 p.m.

Tuesday, November 11, 2014